PDA

View Full Version : Vintage Gibson A4 snakehead --- what's it worth?

tmarks1056
Jul-11-2012, 2:34pm
Hey guys,
I'm a total novice and know virtually nothing about vintage instruments. I just know I have one! I acquired it from my grandmother.

It's a Gibson A4 snakehead model with VIRZI, sunburst finish, I believe it's from 1923-1925. (The serial number, 79577, seems to match those production years.)

It's not in mint condition, although I would consider it in very good condition, showing signs of it's age. It is missing the metal plate that covers the bottom of the strings at the bottom (sorry! not sure the right term for this). All the other parts are original and present. It has the original hard case as well, but this is not in awesome condition, I rescued it from an attic.

From what I've read, these models are highly sought after and it seems those in excellent condition are going for pretty large amounts of money online. Though, I haven't been able to find much information about those that aren't in pristine condition so I have absolutely no idea what this thing is worth.

Anyone want to give me their opinion? Any information would be much appreciated!

Thanks!

G7MOF
Jul-11-2012, 3:06pm
Do you have a few pictures?

mrmando
Jul-11-2012, 3:49pm
Absolutely worthless, but for $25 I'll take it off your hands. ;)

79577 points to a shipment date of early 1926 according to Spann's Guide to Gibson, but the instrument was almost certainly built between 1923 and 1925, as you suggest. If you look through the soundhole at the neck block, you should see a "factory order number" stamped on the block. It will probably have 4 digits beginning with 8, but could have 5 digits and might even have an A after the numerals. If you find this number, we can infer the manufacture date from it.