PDA

View Full Version : Upgrade to a Loar 600?

GuyIncognito
Jul-03-2012, 1:10pm
My parents said they'd go half on a new mandolin for me at the end of the fall semester. Would a Loar 600 be a significant upgrade from a Korean made Kentucky KM-675 or would it be worth it to save up for a 700 instead? I like my Kentucky but it's not as loud or 'woody' sounding as I'd like I mostly play classical and folk but I am currently learning jazz and maybe some bluegrass down the line. Though with college I’m not afforded much time to play with others I do enjoy ensemble playing. What would be your opinion or if there’s another good f style mandolin in the $1000 or less range?

Ray Neuman
Jul-03-2012, 3:57pm
I have no experience with the 600 or 700, but I DO have a 520. What I can say is, I am throughly in love with my mando! Its loud, deep and plays like butter. As I understand the Loar line, the higher the number, the fancier they get. Mine is a workhorse and I love it that way. It started out as a medium sound and volume, but I play it a couple hours a day and after 5 months, its really impressive. I played it at a 400 seat church last week with NO amplification and everyone heart it and loved it.

billkilpatrick
Jul-03-2012, 4:41pm
my loar LM600 is probably all i'll ever need, but if you have a sound in mind, i suggest you put your money in the bank and wait till you find it.

CavScout
Jul-03-2012, 9:19pm
My first mandolin was a Morgan Monroe. I upgraded to a Loar 600 and it was a major improvement (and the MM really wasn't too bad). The Loar has a nice deep bass and a woody bark. I have since upgraded to a Collings MF...and believe it or not...sometimes I do go back to my Loar. I don't think you'd be disappointed, its a really decent mandolin for the money.

Ben Milne
Jul-03-2012, 10:00pm