PDA

View Full Version : Finger coordination

Jessbusenitz
Jun-21-2012, 10:22am
Ok, does/did your job help you develope finger coordination I do a lot of mechanic, metal fab and woodwork, and am constantly using my fingers. There are still chords though that make me stretch a bit to get, but I still think all that exercise helps. How about you?

OldSausage
Jun-21-2012, 11:06am
Hmm - as a coder, I do a lot of typing. I don't think it helps much.

Justus True Waldron
Jun-21-2012, 11:51am
Hmm - as a coder, I do a lot of typing. I don't think it helps much.

I'll second that. It does give me plenty of time to listen to music and think about what to play when I got home!

mjb128wv
Jun-21-2012, 12:45pm
I try to use the mouse with my left hand and click with my pinkie. Also I try to type without looking at the keys. I think any small muscle movements like that - out of your comfort zone increase the mind/body connection and awareness.

Steve Ostrander
Jun-21-2012, 12:49pm
I was starting to have arthritis issueswhen I was playing guitar. I thought mandolin would be worse, but I find it's actually easier on my hands and fingers. Except for that G chop chord, of course...

Jessbusenitz
Jun-22-2012, 7:44am
I do know that first thing in the morning everything's a little stiff, but come the end of the day, my fingers are a lot more coordinated/ flexible.

Mike Scott
Jun-22-2012, 10:14am
I was starting to have arthritis issueswhen I was playing guitar. I thought mandolin would be worse, but I find it's actually easier on my hands and fingers. Except for that G chop chord, of course...

That's weird isn't it - I have found the same thing. I have kind of small hands so I play three finger chop chords mainly so can't relate to the G thing. My issues on guitar is G7 mainly and C to some extent, so now I am limited to open tunings and E and some D key country blues tunes. Many of the Bossa Nova stuff doesn't bother the fingers either.

KennyE
Jun-22-2012, 11:16am