PDA

View Full Version : What are you working on now?

joni24
Jun-07-2012, 7:32pm
Here's my current focus list:
1 - Learning more fiddle tunes (with festival season coming up I'm hoping that this will pay off to some extent at late night jams).

2 - Learning to play scales in closed position. I'm just starting out with the FFcP basic exercises as found in Jazzmando.com. Not yet ready for prime time, but I think it is worthwhile.

3. - Playing up the neck: I'm working thru Nile Hokkanen's Bluegrass up the Neck book. Got it over a month ago but still only up to about page 9. Lots of good info and practice exercises, if I can be patient!

4. Just having fun with old familiar tunes.... Working on singing a few leads and developing better instrumental breaks.

5. Trying to integrate a few double stops into my breaks. Starting with I am a Pilgrim and Kentucky Waltz.

How's about y'all? I find that seeing what other people are working on helps me as well. Thanks!

joni24
Jun-08-2012, 8:16am
So... is this list too ambitious? Or did I scare everyone away.

belbein
Jun-08-2012, 8:27am
You can't scare ME away.

I'm working on:

1. A Saga AM-10 "A" mandolin (in finish mode);
2. A Don Kawalek Octave Mandolin (starting this afternoon);
3. A P.O.S. Rover that I'm slowly taking apart to teach myself how to repair.

Oh. Did you mean what MUSIC?

Adam Sweet
Jun-08-2012, 8:28am
Wow these are great. How long do you practice every day?

Remember with scales/arpeggios, learning is incremental - you build up over time so 10 minutes a day, every day, is better than 30 minutes twice a week (just like weight training...funny how the brain works).

I've got mostly wedding gigs this summer, no new material. I am playing mandolin in a Klezmer Ensemble that I teach on Tuesdays. That's a lot of fun because I get to play rhythm. The rhythms are a lot of fun in Klezmer music!