PDA

View Full Version : Petersen OM

Avi Ziv
Dec-25-2004, 9:15pm
Hi,

Yesterday I bought a slightly-used Petersen OM, Level 2. This is my first larger instrument, coming from a nice Flatiron A5 Artist. It's a flat top, 22.5" OM, with maple back and sides, spruce top, and mahogany neck. Big sound! I have a lot to learn and I'm very excited about it, so I do have some questions. The first is - do any of you play one of these? I'd love to hear from you and exchange some notes. Of immediate interest is the question of strings. What kind/thickness/brands are suitable for this instrument? It came with, what I believe are, the original strings but I can't tell what they are. The strings are ball-end and I'd be happy to buy then as individuals or sets - whatever makes sense. The second question is - where would be a good place to install a strap button? The OM has an end pin - is it considered ok to use it for a strap? What about a place on the neck side? I have no experience with this. The third question would be - any specific recommendations for a pickup that works well with this instrument? Yes - I am going to contact Mr. Petersen and talk about various things, but I also value the real life experience of musicians who use it.

So, excuse me while I go to put my left hand in tractions as you ponder my questions ;)

Avi

otterly2k
Dec-25-2004, 10:02pm
I don't have a Petersen, but I have a Trillium with the same scale...

re: your strap question... my OM came with an endpin, which is for a strap, but nothing on the neck side. Martin makes a little device to solve this problem... it is a strip of leather that goes around the headstock under the strings, and attaches back to itself on a button that also serves to attach a strap. If you're not sure about where or whether to put another strap button on the instrument, this works without drilling.