PDA

View Full Version : Cant find any info on this epiphone

c21re217
May-21-2012, 9:45pm
As the description says...Im new to mandolins. Ive been a acoustic guitar player for numerous years. This is what ive found out. Its a A style Epiphone but no tag inside the f holes. Its a blonde with abalone on the fret board which I can only find on a Zepher.

Jim Garber
May-21-2012, 10:02pm
Not sure of the era but i think this is a Korean import. I have seen lots of these, most with no brand at all indicated. They are quite inexpensive. Not sure if Gibson just imported them under Epiphone name.

MikeEdgerton
May-21-2012, 10:03pm
These were imported first from Japan and then from Korea in the early 70's. The Japanese models had a blue label that listed Kalamazoo and Japan on it. The Korean models didn't always have labels. It's most likely laminated wood. This wasn't Epiphones finest hour by any means. Here's a Japanese model.

c21re217
May-21-2012, 10:11pm
I appreciate any replies. I have read about the korean and japanese models I dont believe this is laminate wood. I wonder if it could have had a replaced head stock or could have been refinished...although no signs

MikeEdgerton
May-21-2012, 10:11pm
If you look through this (http://www.mandolincafe.com/forum/showthread.php?79118-Key-Brand-Info&highlight=global) thread you'll note a strong resemblance to the group of mandolins with various brand names on them. There's an electric with the same headstock shape and some of the others linked to might be the same as well. Gibson wasn't making these, they were buying them and having them labeled as Epiphone.

It looks pretty normal for the genre. It's easy to tell if the top is laminated, look at the wood from the side on the f hole.

MikeEdgerton
May-21-2012, 10:15pm
Do you mean the fret markers? Look at the Japanese model above.

c21re217
May-21-2012, 10:19pm
That does look a lot like it. Is it worth a benjamin?

MikeEdgerton
May-21-2012, 10:22pm