PDA

View Full Version : Transcribing from guitar to mandolin?

MSGrady20
May-12-2012, 11:11am
I have a few guitar music books (Phish and Led Zeppelin to be exact) and I want to transcribe the guitar notation into mandolin notation. I am new to mandolin and don't really have a full grasp on how to do the transcription myself, so does anyone know if there is some sort of program around that can can do the transription for me? Thanks!

John L
May-12-2012, 11:32am
Sorry about not answering the question, but a comment I wanted to share from someone that also began as a guitar player. I found my mandolin playing moved ahead significantly when I stopped thinking in guitar and translating to mandolin. My $0.02 - the sooner you start "thinking in mandolin" the better.

Chip Booth
May-12-2012, 5:42pm
Tabledit will allow you to enter notation (and import MIDI files) and it can create tablature for any instrument you want from that. I haven't tried any others but I would guess that most commercial tablature programs can do something similar.

Keep in mind that guitar music often can't be physically performed verbatim on the mandolin so you will likely have to make adjustments.

wommbatt
May-13-2012, 10:40pm
my two ideas:
if the books are in standard notation you can snag up a mando fretboard diagram and write out the mando version yourself. thats my best suggestion anyway.
another way would be to just write down the guitar chords and then find their mando equivalents. ive done this a couple of times, but find that the first idea i mentioned is much simpler
and like chip said, the music doesnt always translate nicely but you can get close and make small changes as you go, good luck 8]

mandocrucian
May-14-2012, 12:05am
You haven't said exactly what type of guitar parts or the complexity level you want to put on the mandolin.......just chords? rhythm riffs? electric guitar solos? Or is it just a simple melody line?