PDA

View Full Version : Is this Cosmetic or a problem?

playmandolin
Feb-19-2012, 12:39pm
Hi,

Newbie here, finally moved up from a cheap Rogue to a Loar lm-400. I am waiting to hear from the dealer but wanted some advice as to what others think.

This Mandolin sounds and is setup great. There is a blemish that bothers me and am wondering if others have seen something like this and is it just cosmetic or problem waiting?

If its just cosmetic, I could deal with it for the sound. If it is a problem, well thats different.

Any input would help.

Thanks,

Jeff

Pete Summers
Feb-19-2012, 1:08pm
To be honest, I can't discern what finish flaw you are talking about from that photo -- all I can see is reflections of light in the shine of the finish. However, since minor finish flaws seem to be pretty common on The Loar models (at least, judging by threads on this site - that issue is commonly discussed) I'll climb out on a limb and say it's probably not a problem.

Better pictures, though, would help.

Btw, welcome to the Cafe where you'll find a lot of good information and entertainment.
:mandosmiley:

playmandolin
Feb-19-2012, 1:57pm
Thanks Pete,
I don't think its a structural deal, just what you get sometimes I guess. Its just I am new at this, and I don't have a Luthier or shop anywhere near me to get an actual eyeball on it.

On the lower side below the tail piece is an actual thumb size shaving that even the nitro cant hide, you can see the tool marks on the outer ends of it. In the middle of this shaving is what looks almost like a fish eye in the nitro. But I dot think it is.
I guess they shaved out a bad spot or something.

I just am to new and wanted to know if these type of marks are par with hand carved tops at this price. I mean with my old "plywood" of course its perfect looking because its plywood but sounds like junk :) This one sounds amazing, my wife even says I am allowed to play in the living room now :)