PDA

View Full Version : Flying with a mando?

Tgh
Feb-11-2012, 10:24am
Hi folks, I'm new to this amazing mando world. How do airlines deal with them, can i carry one in a form-fitted case as a carry-on? What's your experience? Thanks. Cheers to you, TGH.

Randi Gormley
Feb-11-2012, 10:39am
You'll probably get a couple references to older strings, but the short answer is that most of us carry through our mandolins without much problem. The caveat always is that nothing is set in stone and an airline can and will bar your instrument in the cabin and make you either check it at the door or send it with the luggage. It doesn't hurt to check the airline site for specific information from them. The two times I've flown with a mandolin, I've put it in the smallest, most innocuous case I own (which happens to be a soft case), sling it over the shoulder farthest from the people at the door, don't carry much of anything else and look confident.

Kip Carter
Feb-11-2012, 10:41am
There are lots of threads where discussion of travel with instruments (specific to mandolin) are talked about. Here is one that is currently active that you may find valuable.
New Bill (http://www.mandolincafe.com/forum/showthread.php?82242-New-Bill-allows-musicians-to-carry-instruments-on-Planes)

Regards,
Kip...

Tgh
Feb-11-2012, 10:58am
Thanks, Randi and Kip....that helped! Cheers.

Jim
Feb-11-2012, 11:02am
I've always been able to carry mine on in a little gig bag, I don't carry string clippers or tools in the case, I do put my book or magazine in the case too, a paper back or magazine can help protect the head stock & tuners in a gig bag.

Richard Eskite
Feb-11-2012, 11:07am
Just flew from DC to SFO via Virgin with a Collings in a hard case. Even though the flight was really full, I had no problem. Stowed it in the overhead.

JeffD
Feb-11-2012, 11:32am