PDA

View Full Version : New question

Baloo
Feb-20-2004, 2:34am
Hey,

I have been playing for about 4 years. I have drilled alot on scales and such and never really learned a song. I am able for the most part to sit down with a song and play notes that sound good with the song.....

But when they ask me to solo I cant. I have a problem when a chord changes. I can play pretty fast, and I can play all over the neck, and when I play against someone playing lead then I sound good because when they make the chord changes I just match that sound up in my head. But when I try to do that I cant, any idea why not? Do I need to just sit down and try to learn a song?

thanks for any help

Greenmando
Feb-20-2004, 5:00am
Practice, practice, practice.

Baloo
Feb-20-2004, 5:25am
I guess thats what I needed to hear,

I just need someone to confirm that this will work out with practice and is not going to be a stumbling block for the rest of my life......

Greenmando
Feb-20-2004, 5:47am
I am still working on the same problem. It is a matter of being able to play and see everything around you. It has to be second nature.
I seen Rhonda Vincent a few nights ago and she was playing and talking to the fiddle player at the same time. I can barely sit and play, lol.

Dolamon
Feb-20-2004, 7:21am
It's more than just practicing. And, to learn a tune isn't always done while playing an instrument. Often, in rote practice, what you're doing is teaching the muscles in your hands to follow a pattern (a good thing). The problem lies in what you're hearing.