PDA

View Full Version : Stiver f mandolin?

biggreen
Jan-27-2012, 9:41pm
I am new to mandolins. I have my heart set on a Stiver f-style. I am wondering if they are the best use of my money for a bluegrass mandolin?

P.D. Kirby
Jan-27-2012, 10:02pm
When I lived up in Pennsylvania his Mandolins were all the rage with the Bluegrass crowd. Down here in Virginia not so much. I think there are plenty of small quality builders that build Mandolins equal to or better than Stivers but then thats all a matter of opinion. I know he builds a fine sounding Mandolin (I've played 2 or 3 of them) I always thought they were a little rough finish wise but then again Lou might like the distressed look for all I know. Since you are starting with a high end Mandolin I think you would do well to look around a little before you buy anything. For the price point of a Stiver F you can get just about any Mandolin you like, with a few exceptions. JMHO

Oh, welcome to the Cafe

dcoventry
Jan-27-2012, 10:19pm
Yeah, what PDK said.

Heck, if you were man enough..........you could play a RIGEL!

Just sayin', and you'd be happy, cool, respected, and ladies would be knocking down your door.

P.D. Kirby
Jan-28-2012, 3:52am
Yeah, what PDK said.

Heck, if you were man enough..........you could play a RIGEL!

Just sayin', and you'd be happy, cool, respected, and ladies would be knocking down your door.

That's the main reason I don't have a Rigel, I don't think the Wife would appreciate all the Ladies knocking down the door. I was thinking he needed a Phoenix Bluegrass Model. Nice Mandolin, not so many Ladies, doors last longer. :whistling:

D C Blood
Jan-28-2012, 6:22am
Just curious..if you're new to mandolins, what lead you to want a Stiver? Great mandolin, but at that "price point" you could have your choice of a good many equally good mandolins...that aside, Stiver is a great mandolin.

Dobe
Jan-28-2012, 12:01pm