PDA

View Full Version : Pulled the trigger on MD-905 SB

gkraushaar
Jan-20-2012, 4:50pm
I went ahead and bought an Eastman MD-905 SB I had been mulling over for several weeks. It's unique features include curly maple binding, Adirondack spruce top, and varnish finish. The maple has nice curl throughout and the adi top has straight grained if not exceptional looking spruce. The workmanship is generally very clean but I would have preferred more recurve on the top, like the Zeidler mandolin I once almost traded for. I have not owned a varnish finished mandolin, but I am generally very careful with my instruments, so we shall see how it holds up long term.

I had been playing an LM-600 for about 3 years and I felt that I was due for a tonal upgrade. I had received good service from The Loar, but felt that the 905 was too much of a hoss to pass up.

We're starting up a contra dance band, so mostly this mando will be playing Celtic music and fiddle tunes. The other instruments in the band are rhythm guitar (D-18) and nyckelharpa, a very resonant Swedish "keyed fiddle" with a number of drone strings. I need a mandolin which is loud, open, and throaty. The Eastman seems to fit the bill and speaks with a loud enough voice to to fit in with the other instruments without having to overplay it, which seems to kill my speed. The throatyness and resonance of the mandolin seems to match the nyckelharpa well and the blend is quite pleasing.

Ray Neuman
Jan-20-2012, 5:30pm
Congrats! Those are drop dead beautiful!

Tristram
Feb-02-2012, 9:27am
Congrats!