PDA

View Full Version : 1906 Gibson F4 Artist #4259

Dave S
Dec-07-2004, 10:53am
Greetings!
Nice site, I have been reading for a few weeks and I wanted to post pics of my Mandolin.
This topic could also be posted in " looking for information " section.
Being a newbie, I had trouble attaching files to post.I have sent these #to "eadg"@mandolincafe" hopefully he can hook up post and pictures. Sorry for the trouble.
I got this mandolin about 12 years ago from a lady who said her aunt in Listowell ,Ontario, Canada gave it to her and that she had played it in church for a number of years before giving it to her.
I had a Daniel Rey from New York send me a photograph from about 1907 which showed a mandolin quartet and a mandolin identical to mine.
I nearly fell over when I saw the picture. He had seen a picture of mine in Vintage Guitar and recognized the mandolin.
Upon further research an article was sent to me by a David Ruppert from Maryland which was a biography on a J.W.Mclouth
who was a conductor,composer,violin,clarinet and mandolin
player.The photo in the biography looked very similar to #the man in the quartet photo.
I sent the photos to Roger Siminoff who confirmed that they are "the same person".
He had and old Gibson cataloge which contained quotes and photographs of and by Mr. Mclouth.
My latest research has included checking Grand Rapids,Michigan history for information on him.
It seems odd that a person so talented(according to the biography) can slip from our memory and history .
I am very sure that this mandolin is one that Mr.Mclouth had the Gibson company custom make. In all of my research I have never seen one identical to mine.
Perhaps someone knows of Mclouth that can help me confirm #that his instrument got to Ontario ,Canada then to where I live in Saskatchewan, Canada.
Any information would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks, Dave S

Scott Tichenor
Dec-07-2004, 11:07am
Here are the pictures he sent me.

Scott Tichenor
Dec-07-2004, 11:07am