PDA

View Full Version : Great-Great Grandfather's Mandolin?

anyadang
Dec-18-2011, 10:53am
Yesterday I bought a mandolin at a local antique shop here in New Hampshire.

My new instrument didn’t come with any strings, so I bought some at the local music store. With the exception of one string, it tuned right up. The gear on one of the D string tuning keys is stripped on one side, but I did manage to get that one to D as well. Sounds great – well, sounds “good”. It might sound better if I knew how to play it.

I was hoping that someone might be able to help me identify its origin and age.

My great-great grandfather was a mandolin maker by trade, and he settled in this area (immigrating from Madrid Spain). I found documentation that shows he was also a performer (professional mandolin player).

I knew it was probably a long shot, but since I found the mandolin in local shop, it could have been one of my great-great grandfathers. Unfortunately, the mandolin is not labeled in any way (not visibly, but I am going to try to get inside it with a small mirror.)

My great-great grandfather’s name was Melquedes (or Melquiades) Hernandez (1876-1929). I would love to find one of his instruments. If anyone has heard of him, his music or his instruments, please let me know.

Jason Kessler
Dec-18-2011, 12:03pm
Well, I don't know anything about bowl backs, but I'll be the first, anyway, to jump in and say that I hope you put light strings on the instrument. Otherwise, you can compromise it profoundly.

Jim Garber
Dec-18-2011, 12:40pm
It does look to be in good shape. I would be careful of what strings you use on it. It should have light or even ultra light gauge ones. I doubt your local store had the right strings, so I would tune the strings down a little so as not to put too much stress on the instrument.