PDA

View Full Version : Weber Special Edition in action

Lukas J
Dec-15-2011, 5:56pm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j3ksn7e4epk&feature=youtu.be

I put this video together so that people could see and hear a Weber Special Edition. I am SO happy with this instrument. I've been playing it every day for 3 months, and have performed about 15 shows with it in that time. Anyone else have one? How do you like yours?

-Lukas Johnson

Malcolm G.
Dec-15-2011, 6:30pm
That's great, Lukas. I like that a lot.

Which strings did you settle on and what pick did you use in the video?

greg_tsam
Dec-15-2011, 7:10pm
Is my screen dark or is his mando black?

ColdBeerGoCubs
Dec-15-2011, 8:13pm
Its a dark "leather" brown. Very nice looking, I love mine.

Lukas J
Dec-15-2011, 8:19pm
Sorry about the darkness. I turned all of the lights on in my apartment but the fact that they were on-screen made it appear darker than it should have. I have some pictures that I'll attach on here that more accurately capture the color.

I am using a Blue Chip CT-55. I have been playing on Dunlop Ultex 1.14mms for the past year, but a month ago I thought I'd try out this pick I've heard so much about. It's a good pick, but what helps me the most is that it doesn't wear so much. No wear means my pick is the same pick at the start of a gig as at the end of it, so my picking has improved with consistency.

I have been using EXP-74 strings, but I've got elixirs on for this recording. I'm up in the air still as to which I like better, but I'm actually thinking I like the EXPs best. I also like the standard J-74s but my hand oils kill them faster than would happen with most other people.