PDA

View Full Version : I'm new here and I have a question...

Ribak
Dec-03-2011, 4:37pm
I finish my MPA in may and I want a new instrument to celebrate, I would love for that new instrument to be a mandocello. Looking around though (as of course most of you would know) finding one in the range of "affordable" is dificult when they start at the 1500+ range.

I just stumbled acroos Walt Kuhlman and his Gypsymusic site. The instruments look fantastic, has anyone here had any experience with them?

Currently I just play the guitar (not that well either) so I'm not a complete newbie when it comes to stringed instruments but this will be my first foray into the mandolin family.

If there is any place else I should be looking at for a starter mandocello please let me know. I've seen the eastman archtops, the weber cellos (I live within an hour drive of Elderly), but walt's here are still cheaper at $1525 to start than either of these.

Any insight is appreciated!

allenhopkins
Dec-03-2011, 4:59pm
With a master's in public administration, you'll never have any money, so get something cheap (speaking as a retired career civil servant)...

But seriously folks, Walt (who posts here as gypsy1) gets good marks for his instruments. Here's (http://www.mandolincafe.com/forum/showthread.php?73201-Mandocello-from-Gypsy-s) a recent thread with pics of a 'cello he built this year. Steve Wishnevsky in NC builds mandocelli, some with a sorta weird asymmetrical body, some on standard jazz guitar chassis, for about $600; here's (http://www.wishnevsky.com/mandolinfamily.html) a link to his website. Soares'y instruments, made in Portugal, used to show up on eBay regularly; they were cheap, lacking in fit and finish, but decently constructed by all accounts. They're built on arch-top guitar bodies, the way Eastman does, but the bodies are all plywood. I think Mike Soares stopped importing instruments during the big recession, but a used one might pop up.