PDA

View Full Version : Dobro mandolin on ebay -- legit?

mattburnside
Nov-06-2011, 1:30pm
http://www.ebay.com/itm/120806428533?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1438.l2649

The f-holes look right, the moons and stars look right, and the burst pattern looks right (especially on the back of the neck). But no decal, and I'm just leery of any auction where "I'm told this is a" comes into play.

jim simpson
Nov-06-2011, 1:48pm
The seller says: "seems to be..." I think that covers his presentation.

It looks very nice. I wonder if any of our Dobro experts will identify the serial # as a Dobro #?

MikeEdgerton
Nov-06-2011, 1:48pm
Looks very Regal-ish to me.

Chief
Nov-06-2011, 2:55pm
Looks exactly like my Dobro mando- only in much better shape. Mine does have the "Dobro" decal on the head. I have no doubt it's authentic. But I'm not an expert.

houseworker
Nov-06-2011, 4:31pm
The A prefix on the number confirms that it's made by Regal. Looks wonderful, what's it likely to fetch?

MikeEdgerton
Nov-06-2011, 8:11pm
The A prefix on the number confirms that it's made by Regal. Looks wonderful, what's it likely to fetch?

Now wonder it looked so Regal-ish. :)

allenhopkins
Nov-06-2011, 11:00pm
Looks just like my Dobro mando except mine has the Dobro decal and screen holes rather than f-holes. Those bodies (likely built by Regal?) are pretty standard.

Watch out for possible neck re-set requirements. My instrument repair guy said the neck block was made of "balsa wood"; he was exaggerating, but the wood was pretty soft...

mattburnside
Nov-07-2011, 11:01am
Looks just like my Dobro mando except mine has the Dobro decal and screen holes rather than f-holes. Those bodies (likely built by Regal?) are pretty standard.

Watch out for possible neck re-set requirements. My instrument repair guy said the neck block was made of "balsa wood"; he was exaggerating, but the wood was pretty soft...