PDA

View Full Version : cheap 4 track cassette

John Rosett
Nov-25-2004, 2:22pm
i'm gearing up to make a cd, and i want to buy an inexpensive 4-track cassette to record scratch versions of the songs. i don't have much money, so i'm looking at stuff like the tascam portastudio 02, which is $150., and the comparable fostex (can't remember the model).
i'm going to be recording a variety of stuff, with acoustic and electric instruments, vocals, drums, etc.
i'm completely new to home recording, so i could use all the advice i can get.
thanks, john

mrbook
Nov-25-2004, 6:40pm
I bought the 02 when it was $250 and thought it was fine. You can do two tracks at once, which I don't think you can do on the Fostex, but it doesn't bounce tracks as far as I can tell, so you are limited to four. I still like tape (I'll admit to being a dinosaur), and prices are going down. You might also pick up an even better model at a cheap price on ebay.

handpicked
Nov-25-2004, 7:11pm
Go on ebay and track several Tascam 424mkII's...I picked one up for 135 bucks recently and is everything you would want. #I missed one once (before I bought mine) that went for under 100 bucks, too. #It's a buyer's market for used cassette 4-tracks. #There is no need to buy a new one...used Tascam on Ebay is the way to go...also, check out homerecording.com for a mandocafe type discussion group devoted to the subject...and will even offer the ol' skool home studio cats' advice on what to buy.

Here's a link

for ebay Tascam 424mkII (http://search.ebay.com/tascam-424-mkII_W0QQfromZR8QQsosortorderZ1QQsosortpropertyZ1)

p.s. I'm not selling mine...no financial interest here...

ShaneJ
Nov-26-2004, 2:13pm
I'd suggest using Audacity (free recording software) on your computer for the scratch tracks.

Spruce
Nov-26-2004, 3:21pm