PDA

View Full Version : Guitarist looking for mandolin info for personal purchase

mulholland76
Oct-09-2011, 9:33pm
For anyone that has a second: I'm a performing guitarist that has decided to branch out a little and purchase a mandolin. After being referred to this site, can anyone give me a tip or two on if there is a quality mandolin made for around $300, maybe even used? I've already been told that there isn't a middle ground like there is for guitars when it comes to mandolins, you either buy something worthy or a real piece of junk. Just trying to avoid junk to sit next to my Taylors as I continue to have fun playing music! Please don't take that as snobby I'm not trying to be. Thanks.

Jim
Oct-09-2011, 9:52pm
At $300 I'd suggest a lower end Kentucky and used would be better, A style will get you more mandolin for the money than F. Used "The Loar" might be had at this price and I heard a fine sounding A style Gold tone ( also by Saga like Kentucky) in the hands of a friend last year, don't know the model but she payed exactly 300 for it. Play ( or play with) all of them you can as there is a great deal of difference between individual instruments at this price point.

GRW3
Oct-09-2011, 10:00pm
Quality? $300? ----- No.

Starter mandolin? Playable? Possible, more so if it's used.

To be comparable to your Taylor will take more money than the Taylor cost. Assuming equal bling levels. Instruments are valued on labor more than wood quantity. Everybody that comes to mando from guitar gets sticker shock.

mulholland76
Oct-09-2011, 10:08pm
Thank you both. At the risk of being shunned on this forum site I'll add that I'm more of an acoustic blues and classic rock player than i am any bluegrass. For that matter i was just reading up on the Ovation MM68 since I saw one played on youtube and thought it had a very full sound plugged in, good resonation and tone. Should I avoid a composite instrument like that or is the ovation respectable?

Bill Snyder