PDA

View Full Version : Beginner here

ciudadmarron
Oct-09-2011, 12:32am
Just wanted to share my story and post pictures of my brand new toy.
I'm a bass player (don't hold it against me!), and as a high school teacher I made a passing comment to my senior class a couple of months back that if I ever picked up another instrument it might be a mandolin. This was purely after stumbling across some vintage instruments at Elderlys when I was actually looking at basses I might add, and nothing more.
So after giving my farewell speech at their graduation a couple of weeks back I was completely blown away when they presented me with this:

Guess I'm going to have to learn - but I'm looking forward to i!

Grommet
Oct-09-2011, 2:19am
Something to treasure for sure. Welcome to the Cafe. May it bring you years of joy.

Scott

Ron McMillan
Oct-09-2011, 6:01am
Something to treasure for sure. Welcome to the Cafe. May it bring you years of joy.

Scott

I echo Grommet's sentiments. Enjoy!

Paul Busman
Oct-09-2011, 6:26am
Man, you must be a great teacher to have your class do that. Congratulations. Now, do them the honor of playing the heck out of that thing. Prepare yourself for having your bass oriented fingers feeling REALLY cramped.

Ed Goist
Oct-09-2011, 6:49am
Congratulations!
What a wonderful story. You made my day.

Denny Gies
Oct-09-2011, 7:03am
Yea, I agree with Ed, great story to start the day. You will have a lot of fun and frustration with this new friend but it should bring you the same kind of rewards that your students feedback to you. Congratulations.

Driftertex
Oct-09-2011, 3:05pm
Congrats and I bet you are a wonderful teacher. Now show them all n learn it.

ciudadmarron
Oct-09-2011, 6:47pm