PDA

View Full Version : Need some inspiration/direction

mfalkner
Feb-18-2004, 10:11am
I've been playing guitar for a few years now - still not very good, but having fun. Picked up a mandolin just over a year ago and love to play it, but I've hit kind of a plateau.

I can make lots of notes come out, but I struggle making music, if that makes sense. My picking and fingering is pretty smooth at least in first position, and as fast as I care to be, but I'm struggling with the transition to playing along with others or just making a song instead of a melody line.

Time and location limit my ability to play with others much; would you all recommend something like Jay Buckey's "playalong" DVD's or some other way to improve?

Bear in mind, this isn't life or death to me, it's for fun and relaxation. I play in church sometimes but never plan to perform; I just want to keep growing.

By the way, I play an MK Legacy deluxe w/ EXP17's.

Thanks,
Mike Falkner.

John Flynn
Feb-18-2004, 10:43am
Since you play for enjoyment, one basic is to not allow yourself to get upset or discouraged about the plateau. I am not suggesting that you are, I am just saying that it can happen and it is counterproductive. I have been in multi-year plateaus! They happen!

For me, breaking out of plateaus often involves changing something significant about my playing. For me, if I don't have an instructor, I get one. If I have one, I switch to another one. If I am not playing with other people, I find a way to get with some people. There is always a way! Also, if I have been playing the same kind of music for a while, I try a different kind. It is amazing how much you can "bring back" to your favorite kind of music when you learn another genre.

grsnovi
Feb-18-2004, 12:39pm
I've been playing stringed instruments since age 14 and I'm now 50. I've been hitting plateaus all my life. They are a fact of learning and you recognize that and discover what it takes to move through the plateau.