PDA

View Full Version : evaluating and dating Epiphone by Gibson Mandolin (1920 - 1930)

raffaele20001
Sep-16-2011, 6:23pm
I am trying to evaluate and date this Epiphone by Gibson Mandolin circa 1920 to 1930.
Please help. Thank you.

Larry S Sherman
Sep-16-2011, 6:32pm
I'm no expert on this, but that doesn't look like a mandolin from the 20's or 30's.

George Gruhn said (http://www.gruhn.com/articles/epistrand.html) "The Epiphone company was later bought by the Chicago Musical Instrument Company, which was owned by Gibson. Epiphone brand instruments were made by Gibson from the late 1950s until 1969." I would imagine that if the mandolin in your pictures was vintage, then the oldest it could be would be 1950.

To me it looks like a MM-30S (http://www.musiciansfriend.com/folk-traditional-instruments/epiphone-mm-30s-mandolin) or MM-20 A Style (http://www.janetdavismusic.com/epiphonemm20.html) Mandolin (not vintage), but like I said I don't know much about Epiphones.

The headstock looks altered to me.

Good luck, Larry

mrmando
Sep-16-2011, 6:35pm
During that time period, Epiphone was an independent company from Gibson. It was founded in New York by the Stathopoulos family.

Gibson acquired Epiphone in the 1960s and now uses the brand name for cheap Asian imports.

What you have here is an Epiphone MM30 made overseas, likely no more than 30 years old. Someone may be able to date it more precisely by the headstock logo and tuners. It is worth no more than $150 to $200.

mrmando
Sep-16-2011, 7:09pm
This thread (http://forum.gibson.com/index.php?/topic/49639-epiphone-by-gibson-headstock-sheraton-owners-club/) on the Gibson forum suggests that guitars with the "Epiphone by Gibson" headstock logo were made at the Samick factory in Korea between 1986 and 1988. For whatever that's worth.

Contemporary logos just say "Epiphone" or "The Epiphone." No "by Gibson."

Larry S Sherman
Sep-16-2011, 7:54pm