PDA

View Full Version : shopping for my first mandolin

dangerjudy
Feb-18-2004, 9:34am
howdy. I'm a guitarist and I've started looking at mandolins - wanted one for years, and I'm thinking this is the year. I wanted some suggestions of what brands/models to consider.
My criteria - it must be a decent instrument, stay in tune, well made, and around $1000 or less. It would be something I can use for gigs without worrying about it falling out of tune. Did I mention it needs to stay in tune? ;-) a pickup would be nice.
I also would like to know the differences in tone between oval soundholes and f holes. I'm particular to the A shape. IN fact I've been slobbering over webpages of quartz breedloves, fortunately I haven't shorted out my monitor yet.
Type of music - well I have no idea. bluegrassy folksy stuff. I can't say anything about how important chops or other tone issues are to me because I'm ignorant of these things. This will be the mandolin I learn such matters on.
ME: well I love the cat-in-the-mandolin-case thread. I have electric guitars mostly, a seagull acoustic little body guitar that I love, and a Charango that I can fumble around with a bit. I've been playing 20 years and I believe in world peace and I love sushi. my website is www.dangerjudy.com if you'd like to peruse it.
Thank you all

DANGERJUDY

Eric F.
Feb-18-2004, 10:23am