PDA

View Full Version : Dynamic or Condenser for live shows

bwootan
Sep-06-2011, 8:21am
Hello, I am new to amplifying acoustic instruments for live shows. I don't particularly care for running my guitar or mandolin straight into the PA, so I have the following rig which I use at practice(very low volume)

Mando/Uke/Guitar > MXL 991 SD Condenser Mic > ART Tube PreAmp (for warmth and some gain) > EHX LPB-1 (clean signal boost) > DOD EQ pedal > DOD Digital Reverb pedal > Fender ProJunior 15Watt tube amp.

My question is when I start to turn up the volume for a live show (which I have not done yet) will a dynamic or the condenser microphone be a better choice? I am concerned with feedback, and not sure if one type of microphone will be more or less likely to feedback or not.

Any advice is appreciated.

Thanks!

Mark Robertson-Tessi
Sep-06-2011, 8:42am
Really depends on the situation. On average, dynamics will tend to be a little more forgiving with respect to feedback, particularly of the ear-piercing kind. However, since you are not going into a PA (based on your chain) you have some flexibility with amp placement to reduce feedback. Stage volume, venue geometry, etc. will all affect your ability to use any particular mic. I haven't used the 991, so I can't speak to its particular properties, but with mics you usually have to work a little to get them right, particularly as volumes go up.

If you already own both types of mics, bring them both, start with the condenser, and swap out for the dynamic if it's unworkable. This has the added benefit of letting you try both mics to hear which sound you prefer.

Cheers
MRT

MikeEdgerton
Sep-06-2011, 9:00am
If you are using stage monitors the condenser is probably going to be an issue. I love condenser mics personally but if you're looking for volume in a mixed environment you might want to use a dynamic mic.

Chip Booth
Sep-06-2011, 9:09am