PDA

View Full Version : Basic mutitrack recording gear w/ capacity

catmandu2
Sep-03-2011, 8:22pm
I'm interested in orchestration and so need something with some capacity. I have some experience with basic decks like the old Teac reels. However, one of the real limitations of the portable digital decks I've used is storage capacity.

What are folks using and/or recommendations? Thanks

Don Grieser
Sep-04-2011, 11:51am
If you need lots of capacity, you could go to a computer based system. Just add another hard drive for more storage. Most portable digital decks only give you 2 inputs at a time. There are a few that will do 8 inputs at a time like the Boss BR1600, but they pale compared to a computer based system for editing, recording capacity, variety of plugins, etc. Unless you find one used for cheap, you'd be better off getting a good computer DAW, IMHO.

I'm on an older MacBook Pro, can record 8 tracks at 24/44.1 to my internal drive for a couple hour live show without a hiccup. Reaper is an inexpensive DAW with amazing capabilities. I use it and Logic Express 8 now, depending on what I'm doing. Hope that helps.

catmandu2
Sep-04-2011, 12:16pm
Yes, thanks Don. Yep, no doubt the PC or mac is the way to go. And it's what I'll have to do ultimately to enable what I'm needing. I've been doing some session work for others with these computer-based systems, and they are great. The reason I haven't done my own projects yet is because I lack the recording means. But I've decided to make the transition to my own projects rather than playing on other people's sessions. So I'll have to spring I guess.

I was hoping to find somehting portable in the meanwhile--until I can get everything set up: something to compile pieces that I have stored on various media and my synth sequencers. But it probably makes more sense to get the storage now before I diffuse any more media. Thanks for the input--much appreciated.

almeriastrings
Sep-04-2011, 12:16pm