PDA

View Full Version : What do Famous Musicians Recommend about Practicing?

JonZ
Aug-19-2011, 6:09pm
It would be interesting to start a list of direct quotes from famous musicians (any instrument) about how to practice. The list would not have to be just household names. It could include musicians recognized by other musicians for their technique.

Quotes could be text or media clips.

Mike Bunting
Aug-19-2011, 6:32pm
http://www.howtopractice.com/quotes/

Crabgrass
Aug-19-2011, 6:41pm
I like this one.

Never ever practice. Always perform.
— Dave Martin

I think he means to put as much effort and heart into practice as you would if you were performing before an audience. Hmmmm

Miss Lonelyhearts
Aug-20-2011, 12:45am
As a music coach, I have quotes about playing and practicing all over my studio walls. One of my favorites that resonates with a lot of players is from Dan Crary: "I'm convinced that playing well is not so much a technique as it is a decision. It's a commitment to do the work, strive for concentration, get strategic about advancing by steps, and push patiently forward toward the goal."

Wynton Marsalis has this to say:

12 rules of practicing

Seek out private instruction. It could take years to figure out what a good teacher could show you quickly.
Write/work out a regular practice schedule. Always include the fundamentals.
Set realistic goals. Chart your development.
Concentrate when practicing. Don't just "go through the motions".
Relax and practice slowly.
Practice what you can't play - the hard parts.
Always play with maximum expression. Play as if you are singing it.
Learn from your mistakes. Don't be too hard on yourself.
Don't show off. Expression, not tricks or gimmicks.
Think for yourself. Respect your teacher, but think things through for yourself.
Be optimistic. There is nothing worse than pessimism coming out of an instrument.