PDA

View Full Version : Me & My '70 F-12 in Action

the_guitar_guru
Aug-08-2011, 3:23pm
Me & My '70 F-12 in Action at cafe24seven in Grand Rapids, Michigan. I started playing mandolin around 2006 because to me it picks up where rocking out on lead guitar leaves off!!! I've had the F-12 for just over a year now.

http://www.youtube.com/user/gregvulcan?feature=mhee#p/c/F009F6A9D64D4C1C/5/213w6uc0QKg

Bernie Daniel
Aug-08-2011, 3:58pm
Me & My '70 F-12 in Action at cafe24seven in Grand Rapids, Michigan. I started playing mandolin around 2006 because to me it picks up where rocking out on lead guitar leaves off!!! I've had the F-12 for just over a year now.

http://www.youtube.com/user/gregvulcan?feature=mhee#p/c/F009F6A9D64D4C1C/5/213w6uc0QKg

Nice picking -- I like it! Like the song too -- but I was in the Army when it came out that was not as much fun!

I had a 1972 Gibson F-12 -- basically identical to yours. The Gibson mandolins from that period do not have a great reputation with the bluegrass crowd for their sound and tone -- but I thought my F-12 sounded pretty decent and I keep it for about 5 years before selling it for more than I paid for it.

On the plus side these F-12's were very pretty mandolins with a peculiar sun bust that I found very attractive. In addition they had most of the features that the F-5's of the day did -- gold hardware, fully bound body and headstock, full fingerboard extension, with a pick guard. They also had two labels just like the F-5's -- one for the model number the other the Gibson guarantee.

Another feature I liked was the matched rosewood fingerboard, bridge, and headstock veneer with the Fleur-di-lis inlay and the yellow varnished binding that had that vintage look all over it. Yes indeed very pretty Gibson. Here is a picture of mine --- I still kind of miss it.

This look like yours? :)

the_guitar_guru
Aug-08-2011, 4:07pm