PDA

View Full Version : Mcclanhan mandolin

l.thompson
Jul-23-2011, 11:27pm
Howdy,i've been playing banjo since 1982 and really love the sound of the mandolin.while on vaction i got to visit with master builder Jonathan Mcclanahan.I love the tone of his mando's and he is currently buliding me one.he's one great guy to deal with.and very passionate about his craft.i'll post picts.as i get them.

Karl Keating
Jul-24-2011, 12:03am
His domain name expired June 18, so his website is down. Did he mention to you whether he was planning to reinstate it? If not, do you have any reason to think his shop may not be around for the long term?

JonZ
Jul-24-2011, 1:01am
It is great that you got to spend some time with him in person. I only spoke with him on the phone--nice guy.

I am very happy with the mandolin that he built for me. I had a chance to visit Gruhn's recently, and played most of their mandolins. I think the McClanahan compared very favorably to their stock.

I would not be surprised if many builders in the under $5K range are struggling. That was the price point where "regular people" could scrape together enough for a "luxury mandolin", and lately a lot of regular people are foregoing luxuries. I wish all these luthiers the best of luck, because there is really a fine group producing in that range, and it would be a shame to lose any of them.

One interesting thing about Jonathan is that his shop is the epitome of "no frills". It is literally a shed behind his trailer. So I would guess that even if he has to supplement his work with a "day job" until the economy stabilizes, his shop will keep going.

Ted Eschliman
Jul-24-2011, 2:19pm
For your curiosity:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BuZhG8p1jMA

Fstpicker
Jul-24-2011, 9:45pm
That is really a cool video. He's the kind of guy I'd love to build a mandolin for me.

Jeff

George R. Lane
Jul-24-2011, 10:35pm