PDA

View Full Version : '91 Flatiron F5 Master Model

fbounds
Jul-19-2011, 10:36am
I have a '91 Flatiron F5 Master Model (signed by Dennis Behlin) and am looking for information. I saw some of the earlier discussions and thought I would open a new thread. I like this mandolin a LOT. I took a chance several years ago and bought it from Mass Street Music. Was wondering if any more historical information on the Master Model has been uncovered. How many were made, specs, etc.

I also have an '81 Carlson A5-2 and an '89 A5 Artist. Both are great mandolins.

DerTiefster
Jul-19-2011, 10:51am
Sounds like a Flatiron fanatic. I'm sure there are worse things to be. I can't answer your question, but it would interest me (and possibly provoke more conversation here) to know what prompts you to play each at different times. What different character or feel is different between the two A's and the F? Thanks....

fbounds
Jul-19-2011, 11:58am
Sounds like a Flatiron fanatic. I'm sure there are worse things to be. I can't answer your question, but it would interest me (and possibly provoke more conversation here) to know what prompts you to play each at different times. What different character or feel is different between the two A's and the F? Thanks....

Hmmm.... I am not so sure that I am a Flatiron fanatic but I do like them. The A5 Artist was first and I ran across it at a guitar show a long time ago and liked it enough to buy it. I got a good deal on the F5 Master and the '81 Carlson was found by my wife. She knew I liked Flatiron's and suggested I may want to grab it. I was just fortunate in the way I ran across them and the prices were decent at the time for the quality of the mandolin. They have gone up quite a bit now.