PDA

View Full Version : stretch fingers sideways?

jdawson
Jul-18-2011, 9:12pm
I am a musical instrument newbie and am trying to learn to play the mandolin. I have a very basic question and I apologize if this is on other threads. I couldn't find an answer to it by searching. I am 6'2" and have long fingers but I am having trouble stretching them across the frets. If I hold up my left hand palm facing me, stretch my fingers out, and then curl them, they all curl in towards the center of my palm (not good when compared to where they need to go on the fingerboard). So, it seems that I have to train my fingers to curl at a different angle to reach the frets OR I have to get them to stretch out sideways or some combination of both. Is this normal and just a part of starting out or am I missing something? Just playing the fifth fret with my ring finger is a sideways stretch for me, not to mention the pinky on the seventh fret. Also, I am trying to keep my fingers at an angle pointing towards my chest.

robert.najlis
Jul-18-2011, 9:51pm
You hold the mandolin differently than a guitar, more like a violin in many ways.

This video from Mike Marshall shouldhelp:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NmagoBQunZI

Pete Summers
Jul-18-2011, 10:00pm
Also take a look at this YouTube video.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Un1Z0Fcfo6o&feature=related

jdawson
Jul-19-2011, 8:25am