PDA

View Full Version : New to the forum, my first mandolin!

arnelson
Jun-30-2011, 2:26pm
Hello everyone, my name is Andrew Nelson and I just completed my first mandolin. I've been building guitars for the past 4 years now and finally felt it was time to make a mandolin. I've wanted an f style mandolin for years, but just couldn't justify buying another instrument then, so I just decided to build it myself. Since you don't know me, I must admit that I don't like spending money, so the only parts bought for this mandolin are the tuners, strings, and lacquer. The bridge and tailpiece I re-purposed from an old mandolin. The top is a pice of reclaimed softwood that I got for free. The back and sides were from a cutoff at my local lumberyard for $4. I made the trussrod from cold rolled steel rod, and the blocks are mahogany cutoffs from some solidbody guitar blanks. All in all I have $98 into this build. Now I just need to learn how to play more than a few songs on it.

Andrew DeMarco
Jun-30-2011, 2:29pm
Sounds like an awesome build. Looks beautiful too. Can I ask, what is nut width?

arnelson
Jun-30-2011, 2:52pm
Thanks. Nut width on it is 1 1/8". I followed Siminoff's book "Constructing a Bluegrass Mandolin" for most of it. I tweeked the body shape a bit and scale length to 14 1/4".

andre66
Jul-01-2011, 10:23am
That is a very impressive build, nice work!

ColoradoKitsune
Jul-01-2011, 10:58am
Wow. impressive.

Fretbear
Jul-01-2011, 11:24am
Sweet; the scroll has a vintage Gibson mandola space to it....

JEStanek
Jul-01-2011, 11:47am
Looks fantastic. WElcome to the Cafe.

Jamie

arnelson
Jul-01-2011, 4:41pm
Thanks everyone. I love how vibrant this forum is. Fretbear, I'll have to look up some pics of a vintage Gibson Mandola to see what you mean. Honestly, before building this, I had never seen an f style mandolin in person. So I kinda guessed my way through the carving of the scroll. It was way harder than I had expected when I started planning.

baiyongjie