PDA

View Full Version : removing Gibson pickguard

atetone
Feb-16-2004, 9:16pm
I recently aquired a 1916 Gibson A that needs a lot of work.
I am going to attempt to do a lot of it myself. This is a scary proposition since I am new to this and I have run into 2 problems already. The first is that the pickguard is really stuck on there. The 2 pins into the fretboard will not release.
Any ideas on how to loosen it up without damaging it?
The second question I have is about removing the back.
It is about 60% off already but how do I go about removing the rest, which is still firmly attached. Should I just try to carefully pry it off or is there something I can use to disolve the glue?
Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

sunburst
Feb-16-2004, 9:42pm
Those pickguards are held on by two steel pins that go into holes in the neck/extender. They are often rusty and hard to move. They also often go in at an angle.
Sometimes I can get them to move by CAREFULLY levering the pickguard back and forth so that you are trying to pull one at a time. Go easy at first because it is easy to lever too far and damage the finish by pushing the pickguard into it.
If it starts to move, you car start to insert plastic shims (or something else sort of soft) and keep working til it comes off.

To get the back off, you can use some heat, but not much or you'll damage the finish. I use a thin putty knife and try to confine the damage to the linings instead of the back. It should come off fairly easilly and fairly cleanly unless someone has already had it off and glued it back on with who-knows-what.

jim simpson
Feb-16-2004, 11:38pm
I had an old fiddle teacher who also repaired them. He told me that he used a medicine dropper with a cup of hot water. I tried it with a fiddle I was restoring. Low tech but it worked! I used a thin blade knife to help the separation along as I applied the drops of hot water. Go easy!

Michael Lewis
Feb-17-2004, 1:39am