PDA

View Full Version : driving with mandolin

bratsche
May-13-2011, 2:25pm
Will be on the road for about 30 hours, and plan to take my most expensive mandola (Sawchyn Beavertail) with me.

I'm just making a trip to see family that up till now I have flown, but it's my first time driving. I know lots of you are veterans of camps, festivals, workshops and the like, and might know something I've forgotten to think of.

Instrument will be kept out of sunlight and sight in decent, big suspension case. There's room for a few t-shirts stuck in there in above and below it - should I do it? or just leave the empty air space around it? Should I detune the instrument? By how much, a step or two, or completely slack?

I know it's hot, and to look for shady parking spaces, but I don't plan on stopping longer than 15 min at a time, just for gas and bathroom breaks. No detours or sight seeing planned - I just want to get where I'm going. Will rest/sleep a while at night to keep my alertness level high. All food will be carried with me.

Am I missing anything obvious here?

bratsche

Ken Sager
May-13-2011, 2:48pm
Relax and have fun? It'll be fine.

JEStanek
May-13-2011, 2:49pm
I wouldn't detune. If the case is black, I would cover it with a light colored towel/jacket etc so it doesn't get hot from absorbing sunlight. Don't keep it in the trunk. Other than that... Drive safe, have fun, take pictures, don't play while driving, play at night to relax.

Jamie

JEStanek
May-13-2011, 2:49pm
Ken, didn't you ride all over creation on a motorcycle with a mandolin strapped to the back?

Jamie

JeffD
May-13-2011, 2:50pm
I have a "space blanket", you know dark on one side and shiney on the other. When I drive with my instruments I put the blanket on top of them. The derned thing really works. Deeps things from getting hot.

catmandu2
May-13-2011, 2:51pm