PDA

View Full Version : Cheaper Mandolin....better tone....louder....can this be for real

Duane Graves
May-06-2011, 2:27pm
Just to say, I have 2 mandolins. One is an Eastman 805D bought new a year or more ago for $1,000 (lists for $1350 or so) I also have a Fender 53S SB bought it several years ago second hand. It lists for around $300. I called it a beater for years and when I got the Eastman I set it aside but recently I started playing it again and to my amazement it sounds "considerably" better than the more expensive Eastman. What about this....isn't it an odd statement or does this happen all the time? --dgg

Randi Gormley
May-06-2011, 2:53pm
Well, YMMV as they say. I'd think 1) you're a better player these days and 2) it might be time to check on the setup on your Eastman. just a thought.

f5loar
May-06-2011, 2:56pm
Eastmans and Fenders and many other brands being import pacrim models can vary considerable regardless of price from really good to pretty darn poor. Set up is crucial in those models and some just can't be set up properly. Between twisted necks, poor fitted bridges and nuts, to really heavy armor coated fireproof non-destructive steel reinforced lacquer these really can vary.

MandoSquirrel
May-06-2011, 6:33pm
Early February I bought an old Kay that has excellent f hole sound & pays wonderfully, & was only a couple of hundred dollars. Aside from playing ability & setup, it can vary greatly from instrument to instrument.

Though personally, I've been not much if any more impressed with the Eastmans I've tried than the Fenders.

Douglas McMullin
May-06-2011, 7:12pm