PDA

View Full Version : lookin for date of manufactoring gibson a 40

slowpick
Apr-24-2011, 9:05pm
hello;i haven't posted before but i've read a lot! i think some of you can help; this is my 1st gibson mandolin; i just got it i love it! would like to kno when it was built. has nmbr 2163 32 stamped inside

f5loar
Apr-24-2011, 10:05pm
Made in late 1949. Post a few photos and we can tell you if it's all original or not.

slowpick
Apr-25-2011, 5:16am
hello f5loar; thank you so much!!! i'm new at this,took me a long timeto get question posted!! i dont have means or know how to post picture righy now;hope to later tho! i've read several of your posts & replies;thanks again for responding

AlanN
Apr-25-2011, 9:31am
f5loar is the A-40 man! Despite its low place on the totem pole, this model found a place in the heart. I have one I bought at Mandolin Bros. in 1978 for $325 (no case). Dandy neck on that little feller!

f5loar
Apr-25-2011, 9:52am
Little Ricky Skaggs at age 6 cut his first "Rawhide" on an A40N blonde top Gibson. They were and always will be professional model mandolins.

John Kinn
Apr-26-2011, 4:41am
I have a 1949 A40 blond top, and it holds its own compared to my 2002 A9. Play that little fellow!

steve V. johnson
Apr-28-2011, 12:49pm
I have an A40, recently acquired & fixed up a bit. Where inside can I find the number? This one is a nice sort of honey burst & has really small bar frets. There doesn't seem to be a number on the neck block... tho I don't really know what I'm looking for.

Thanks,
stv

steve V. johnson
Apr-28-2011, 1:19pm
Here's mine. I'm pretty sure it's all original in this pic, but I had to change out the tuners, some of the shafts were badly bent.

allenhopkins
Apr-28-2011, 4:24pm
Here's Tom "F5 Loar's" explication of why it's hard to find serial numbers and FON's on certain A-40's: