PDA

View Full Version : choosing the right mandolin.

Margi
Apr-24-2011, 4:40am
Hi,
I have played the violin for many years and having family from Campania I have always enjoyed listening to Southern Italian folk music. My violin playing has always been classicaly orientated. I really want to learn to play some of the folk songs I listen to so much and absolutely love the sound of the mandolin. I am looking to purchase one but am not sure exactly what to look for. That it should be Napoletano and bowlback goes without saying but since I'm a complete beginner I dont want to spend a fortune. Can anyone tell me what I should be looking for and for what sort of price. Thank you.
Margi

Dave Cohen
Apr-24-2011, 10:02am
Someone with bowlback expertise will eventually answer your question. I would suggest posting over in the classical section as well to make sure the knowledgeable bowlafficionados see your query in a timely fashion.

http://www.Cohenmando.com

Markus
Apr-24-2011, 10:33am
Hi Margi, welcome!

I don't have the experience with that style of music or those mandolins to help, but agree with Dave that a posting in the classical forum here as well is not a bad plan. If you want a direct link to that subforum, here it is:
http://www.mandolincafe.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?44-Classical-Medieval-Renaissance

It's not that people won't notice this thread here - but with the amount of posts every day it's easy to get lost in the shuffle. Posting the same thing in multiple forums is not a good regular practice, but in this situation it makes lots of sense.

It might also be helpful to know what continent you're on or country/region as there are good mandolin shops all over, word of mouth has pointed me to stores I would have never found without.

Glad to have you here, glad to have one more mandolin player around.

allenhopkins
Apr-24-2011, 11:41am