PDA

View Full Version : Phoenix Neoclassical

gdae85
Nov-04-2004, 6:56pm
Hello,
I have heard and overheard the fact that the model neoclassical is optimal with light gauge strings (which I personally dont like). Do you think this mandolin does not have the capability of holding strings of a heavier gauge http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/rock.gif (J74's, FT74's in particular)?

Thanks! #http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/coffee.gif

JGWoods
Nov-04-2004, 7:54pm
The Phoenix website (http://www.phoenixmandolins.com/neoclassical.htm)says they are meant for extra lights, up to Tomastik Mediums...I have no personal experience with Phoenix mandos to comment on it.
best
jgwoods

Eugene
Nov-04-2004, 10:03pm
My experience with Phoenix is extremely limited; I've handled maybe three. #They seem well-built and sound very nice. #I'm not a great fan of the semi-outlandish design. #I will say I believe an old Gerhardt Unicorn A to be one of the nicest f-holed mandolins I've handled.

The Neoclassical is lightly built to be responsive to light strings. #I have no idea if it could structurally handle heavy strings, but I'm not certain why you'd want it to do so. #If you like the Phoenix line, why not pursue the Neobluegrass which is pretty much the same instrument, but built for heavy strings?

Mandosecond
Nov-04-2004, 10:40pm
As another owner, I would strongly advise against putting heavier gauge strings on a Neoclassical. The top thickness is designed for use with extra lights, as are the tone bars, both in design and placement. You risk damaging the instrument with thicker strings, and if you're the original owner the warrantee won't cover using strings larger than the recommended gauges.

As a red flag for the unwary (got this from Rolfe Gerhardt himself), the nut is cut for extra light gauges; thicker strings won't fit the stock slots. He's trying to tell you something by doing this.