PDA

View Full Version : Any more info on this Australian mandolin?

Spenno
Apr-15-2011, 2:16am
Hi all. First post! :)
I have recently acquired a new mandolin from a private seller after several years of not playing. However I know very little about it! I know it was hand made in Australia from solid timbers, hand made bone nut & bridge saddle, adjustable solid ebony timber bridge, gold Hardware, inlayed headstock/fingerboard/back, set neck with a contoured/lined hardcase.
Can anyone shed any light on it? I don't know anything about the manufacturer or value but it seems like a very well constructed instrument.
Thanks!

Aran
Apr-15-2011, 3:13am
Hiya, I'm no expert but are you sure it is Australian made?

It looks very like the work of a guy in S.E. Asia (possibly Vietnam)

Spenno
Apr-15-2011, 3:24am
Thanks ... I'm just going on what the seller mentioned really. Whether they were simply told themselves where it was made, or knew for certain, I'm not sure.

mrmando
Apr-15-2011, 3:58am
Yes, this looks the work of either Bruce Wei (Taiwan) or Antonio Tsai (Vietnam). The wood may be solid or it may not be, but whereas these shops do a great job with inlay, they sometimes use wood that isn't properly seasoned, which can lead to problems later on.

Spenno
Apr-15-2011, 4:14am
Thanks. The woods are apparently solid flamed maple back / sides / neck, Canadian spruce soundboard, rosewood fingerboard. I'm guessing it's not Australian afterall lol!

D C Blood
Apr-15-2011, 6:01am
Hi, Mandolins such as these can be found on ebay. Sometimes, with a good setup, they can be reasonably good instruments. Others must just be appreciated for their inlay work and art. (wall-hangers)

Big Joe
Apr-15-2011, 6:31am