PDA

View Full Version : Red Valley Flat Mandolin

baiyongjie
Apr-10-2011, 3:40am
Here is my Red Valley mandolin I got from the Mandolin Store just a little while back. The picture isn't the clearest, but the wood is beautiful and the woodwork is wonderful. I just started playing five months ago, so I didn't really know what I was buying sound wise, but I couldn't be more pleased with it. Compared to my other mandolin, an Eastman 504, it has a more clear, booming sort of sound. Sorry that's not so descriptive. I'm badly in love with this mandolin. If James Wilson, the luthier who made it, makes a mandola, I have to get it! I can try to answer any questions on it, but Dennis at the Mandolin Store would know better than me! James Wilson has a site for his mandolins (http://redvalleymandolins.com/) under construction, and you can contact him too. He's a real friendly guy!

Jill McAuley
Apr-10-2011, 10:13am
Nice looking flat top you've got there, and great to have such a nice mandolin when first starting out too!

Cheers,
Jill

Ed Goist
Apr-10-2011, 11:55am
Congratulations on the Red Valley mandolin, it's a real beauty!

Clement Barrera-Ng
Apr-10-2011, 2:39pm
baiyongjie: Nice looking mandolin and thanks for sharing the picture. I saw them on the Mandolin Store website a little while ago and have been curious about them. Quick question: You mention that yours is a flat top, but the description on the Mandolin Store says that the top is 'hand carved', which I interpret as a carved top similar to a Gibson A if you will. Did you have a different model than what's currently available? Just curious.

Love to hear / see some sound clips if you have them. Thanks again.

baiyongjie
Apr-10-2011, 6:46pm
Thanks for the replies! I'm really happy to have such a nice mandolin, even though my playing good enough for it. My neighbor hates it, so whenever I see her car leave, I run for my Red Valley and play like crazy until the sad moment I see her come back.