PDA

View Full Version : Review: John McGann's "Fiddle Tunes for Mando" set

J. Mark Lane
Feb-16-2004, 1:46pm
First, to be clear, I have no financial or other vested interest in this product, its author, or its publisher.

In September 2002, I started learning mandolin. After a few false starts with instructional materials that didn't suit my fancy, I found comfort with the Roland White set, which includes two CD's and a book of tab/notation for a group of over 30 "fiddle tunes" and other bluegrass/oldtime material.

After learning a handful of those fairly well, I happened to pick up the Steve Kaufmann "Parking Lot Pickers" set. That set includes 20 tunes and six CD's. The multiple CD's is reflective of the fact that the Kaufmann set, unlike the White set, includes a good bit of "talking instruction" on the CD's, and includes three complete versions of each tune, from simple to more complex.

Over the last six months or so, I have mixed and matched the White and Kaufmann sets, picking from them based on what I wanted to play. This has been working well enough for me.