PDA

View Full Version : Right Hand Woes

cornishpixie
Mar-15-2011, 2:29pm
Hi folks! I'm a newbie (as in five lessons in) mandolin player at the ripe old age of 41.
I picked up acoustic guitar as a teenager and it came relatively easily to me, but I've always loved the sweet sound of the mando. My teacher has been complimentary of my left-hand dexterity, rhythm and natural "feel" for the instrument, but he keeps pointing out issues with my right hand. I tend to tense up when I pick and not hold my hand in the loose fist shape that's recommended and there's way to much wrist action going on. He's demonstrated that I need to move more with my arm and less with my wrist. I try to do this, and while it feels more relaxed, I'm botching up my picking.
Frustrated!! Am I just expecting too much too soon? Does it just take time and pratice to find that "sweet spot" in your posture? Any recommendations/advice welcome... and thanks in advance for the input. ;)

barney 59
Mar-16-2011, 8:09pm
Gee, I don't know I need to play with less of my arm and more of my wrist.

300win
Mar-17-2011, 9:20am
My opinion your teacher is wrong. That wrist needs to be limber as a dish-rag. That will allow you to be more fluid in your picking. I've been playing a long time, and wished my wrist was still limber like it used to be, but it is what it is. There are differant ways to play, but everybody I ever seen that was good on mando had a very loose wrist.

Don Julin
Mar-17-2011, 9:44am
I am a believer in holding the pick with a loose fist, but I am not so sure about using more arm and less wrist. I would need to see you play to be sure, but in general, holding the pick loose and playing with a loose wrist is the way to achieve a good mandolin sound.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Un1Z0Fcfo6o

Mike Snyder
Mar-17-2011, 9:45am
Watch some Tim O'Brien videos, note his wrist.

MONami
Mar-17-2011, 10:16am
That is not what his teacher said. The OP said his wrist was too tense.