PDA

View Full Version : My First Mandolin

Wayne Bagley
Mar-12-2011, 11:10am
I have been playing mandolin for two weeks and I have purchased my first mandolin.
I am aware that it is not the highest quality instrument such as many of you are used to using but we all have to start somewhere.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v690/waynebagley/Cove_Creek_TMAS_NAT.jpg

It's a Tanglewood Cove Creek mandolin that's Solid Mahogany throughout.
It has a great sound, looks great and feels good.

I really like the sound of a mandolin and now that I have discovered it I hope to be playing the rest of my life.
I'm 54 and have been playing guitar for a year now.

I have visited this site many times so I finally decided to join the forum and hopefully do some posting. I'm sure as a beginner I'll have many questions.

Thanks everyone.
Wayne

PS Is there a section for beginners on the forum? Beginner resources?

billkilpatrick
Mar-12-2011, 11:33am
you wouldn't want to see my first mandolin ...

welcome to the club - "ffcp" and "newbies" groups in the "social groups" section of the cafe might prove useful.

Ed Goist
Mar-12-2011, 12:34pm
Hi Wayne:
Welcome & congratulations!
That is a fine looking mandolin. I own an all mahogany guitar that I just love the sound of. I bet your mandolin has the same woody, warm tone.
Again, congratulations.

SHORTY
Mar-12-2011, 2:35pm
I was a late starter myself, 60 now. My first was a Jones A mandolin. Then I learned a few notes and MAS took over. Now I build my own and take lessons at ETSU and with Adam Steffey. It's all been fun.

Wanderer
Mar-12-2011, 2:58pm
Great looking mandolin and I'm sure that all mahogany sounds fantastic. At 54, you're still pretty young to be starting out on Mando. I'm several years north of that and just started a few weeks ago. It is great fun.

Jesse Harmon
Mar-12-2011, 3:33pm