PDA

View Full Version : 1965 Gibson A w/ org case on e-bay NFI

P.D. Kirby
Mar-05-2011, 9:18pm
I kinda like this Mandolin, there is 16 hours left and it's up to about $1200.00. The BIN is $1500.00. Since I'm new at this MAS could someone tell me if this is a good price? I know it's subject to condition and you can rarely depend on the description given and the seller appears to not know what he is selling. I quote "two strings are broken but they are in the case" OMG!!! Anyway if this is a good price I might pull the trigger so please help me out if possible.

http://cgi.ebay.com/MANDOLIN-GIBSON-SN-36099-70-ONE-OWNER-I965-MODEL-/290538273776?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item43a56e3bf0

NFI

Phillip

MikeEdgerton
Mar-05-2011, 9:46pm
The price isn't outstanding and those weren't Gibson's best years, they weren't the worst though. If the 1500.00 BIN had been great it would have gone immediately. This is one of those things that you have to shoot from the heart if you want it, it's not screaming buy me to me at least. Now that Derrington signed Gibson A5L in the classifieds is killing me.

f5loar
Mar-05-2011, 10:32pm
A quick look by anyone with just a little Gibson history knowledge, which the seller should have done, can tell from the photos and the FON given that this A40N model was made in 1948 not 1965. That is a big difference in both value and quality of mandolin you are getting. The spread of $1200 to $1500 is what a vintage dealer would price it at in this condition. It's pretty clean and has the original hardshell case which in itself is worth a few hundred. It does not have the original rosewood bridge however it still retains it's original open back Kluson tuners.
So at $1200 you would basically be paying full price and not a steal of a deal. As far as playability and sound, this is the exact model Ricky Skaggs cut his teeth on. You can see him picking it on youtube.com with Flatt & Scruggs when he was about 6 years old.

MikeEdgerton
Mar-05-2011, 10:40pm