PDA

View Full Version : Top 5 Mandolins under $300

anvilmaster
Mar-05-2011, 12:45pm
Hi everyone, I'm a bit new to this, so I apologize if this has been asked a thousand times before. However, I have done a bit of research in the archived forums and only found this http://www.mandolincafe.com/forum/archive/index.php/t-29232.html. It's the exact same topic, but its four years old. Thought it was a great one and deserved a revisit. At the time the Fullerton Gloucester seemed to take the prize, but- it seems they've faded away to an almost mythical status, (apparently the company responsible for their production was bought out, and discontinued the line). So, What would you all recommend now?

Gwernen
Mar-05-2011, 12:53pm
I'd like an answer to this too! There are those of us out here that are driving cars we bought for $300, laugh.

Ed Goist
Mar-05-2011, 1:39pm
Hi, and welcome to the Cafe!

This is a fun question.

First and foremost, please keep in mind that a good pre-purchase set-up (http://www.folkmusician.com/mandolinsetup.asp) is absolutely critical in this price range. The quality of the set-up is arguably even more important than the brand or instrument choice at this price, so selection of your vendor is really a more important decision.

Two of my top picks are solid bodied electrics, as these tend to be much nicer than the acoustics available at this price point (the same goes for guitars).

Here goes:
1. Kentucky KM-172
2. Epiphone Mandobird IV or VIII (electric)
3. Kentucky KM-300E (electric)
4. Kentucky KM-161
5. Kentucky KM-150

Clement Barrera-Ng
Mar-05-2011, 1:45pm