PDA

View Full Version : Calling All Gilchrist Experts....

Spruce
Feb-25-2011, 7:27pm
Hi all...

How many Gilchrist Model 4s are out there with the short scale length like the original Gibson F4s??

I'm in possession of a '94 Model 4, and I was recently told that there might be only a few of these out there with the short scale length?

And that the 4s that have been built in the past decade or so have the longer scale length?

Any info would be greatly appreciated.....
Thanks!!

http://i231.photobucket.com/albums/ee22/e_stamp/Gilchrist/P1040072.jpg

bones12
Feb-25-2011, 7:30pm
Bruce, I have a delightful Gil model four (F4) with a one piece back and all the tone in the world. Doug in Vermont

Will Kimble
Feb-25-2011, 7:39pm
Hey Bruce, cool mando. :)

F4s and F5s have the same scale length, just a different relative location of the bridge and neck joint. "Short neck" would be a better description. The only short scale ovals I know of are the 13" Lyon & Healys.

I am no Gilchrist expert, but I know there are two long neck (13 or 14 fret? Maybe even 15?) oval holes that were originally made for Andy Statman. As far as I know all of the others are 12 fret necks like the old Gibsons. At some point in the last 5 years or so there was a significant change when Steve started using hard maple for the necks instead of mahogany.

Hope this helps,
Will Kimble
www.kimblemandolins.com

djweiss
Feb-25-2011, 7:42pm
Mike Compton's F4, for instance, has the short neck configuration. I think the recent ones all share that feature, as do the model 1 mandolins...

Spruce
Feb-25-2011, 7:58pm
F4s and F5s have the same scale length, just a different relative location of the bridge and neck joint. "Short neck" would be a better description. The only short scale ovals I know of are the 13" Lyon & Healys.

Got it, thanks!

At some point in the last 5 years or so there was a significant change when Steve started using hard maple for the necks instead of mahogany.