PDA

View Full Version : Switching picks...?

Laird
Feb-02-2011, 3:43pm
Strangely enough, I'm all the sudden looking for a new pick. For the first couple years I played, I was a Golden Gate guy. Then I tried Dawgs, tried Blue Chips (no, I didn't care for them), and finally settled on Wegen, moving up from M100 to M150.

A month or so ago, I started playing around with sharper Dunlop guitar picks--don't know exactly why, but it probably had something to do with my young son misplacing my Wegen--and my leads have definitely been crisper at the weekly jams. Chops aren't as full, but it seems worth the trade-off if I'm taking leads (which I do pretty consistently). Going back to the fat Wegen now, as I did last night, feels like playing with a skipping stone.

So now, unexpectedly, I'm looking for my new favorite pick. I've ordered some Dunlop Ultexes (1.4), and the JazzMando pro plecs, as well as another Blue Chip (TAD60 1R).

My question is less about which pick you love--I've reviewed the old threads, so I'm up to speed on that--but whether you've found yourself suddenly needing a change in pick at some random point several years into your playing.

Brent Hutto
Feb-02-2011, 3:48pm
I haven't played for several years yet so I can't answer your real question. But my answer to the one you're not asking is to try the big triangle Wegens. Something in the TF120/TF140 range. I suspect you're migrating to having a point instead of a round edge and that's the obvious parallel most similar to what you've been using. They have a point but not a sharp little Dunlop Jazz point or anything extreme like that.

If you do have any interest in the TF120 (1.2mm) I have a couple spares and would be glad to loan you one of them for a couple weeks to try. You can just mail it back to me when you're done (unless your son decides it tastes as good as a M150!).

JeffD
Feb-02-2011, 4:05pm