PDA

View Full Version : Ventage Wahburn Bowlback Mandolin - serial number 17575

ckmusca
Jan-28-2011, 4:37pm
Hello All,

I was wondering if anyone could help me determine the age of a mandolin. It was my great great grandfathers and all I know is that he purchased it in San Francisco before the big earth quake of 1906. The story goes that he survived with just the mandolin and his underwear. It is a Washburn bowlback. The sticker inside shows the serial number as 17575. It is in it's original case and has sat in my uncle's closet for some time. I've attached pictures. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I'm surprising my husband next week with it as his birthday present (after I have it cleaned, restrung and set up).

Thanks!
Cristin

Jim Garber
Jan-28-2011, 8:33pm
It looks like a style 115 from about 1903. Make sure that you have it strung with very light gauge strings.

brunello97
Jan-28-2011, 8:44pm
Jim is pretty fast on the draw....

Hello Cristin, I am no expert on this by any means and much of what I have learned has come from our dear friend Hubert "Keef" Pleisjer's great book "Washburn: Prewar Instrument Styles" (which I highly recommend for your very luck husband's next birthday gift.)