PDA

View Full Version : Joe Walsh (of the Gibson Brothers) 'Sweet Loam' CD

Mark Hudson
Jan-17-2011, 6:38am
No one seems to have mentioned his new CD 'Sweet Loam' yet, so I'll throw it out to you...

First, this is from the Bluegrass Association that I'm part of -
http://www.hvbluegrass.org/articles/interviews/424-exclusive-interview-with-joe-walsh.html

I picked up 'Sweet Loam' at a Gibson Brothers concert Friday night.
Being a newbie to the mandolin with no formal music background I won't pretend to have an in depth review for you experts :) - But a local mandolin player who I well respect said the Joe shows how important what you don't play can be, his sense of musical space and timing is impeccable... Joe isn't flashy... I would say "solid" but that would downplay the excellence of both Joe and the CD...
I will say that I've heard the CD three times and I love it!
(As a newbie I will say that the worst part is that Joe makes everything seem easy! :mandosmiley: )

Mark Hudson
Jan-17-2011, 5:40pm
Just so you can get the idea :-)
This is just the first Youtube video I hit...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HKGn3JxASjA

mandopete
Jan-20-2011, 10:54am
Wow, I didn't know he had a CD out. I'll be seeing the Gibson Brothers at Wintergrass and hopefully they will have this one for sale at the merch table. I love Joe's playing. The video clip really shows how tasteful his approach to mandolin is. Check out his break on "I Know Whose Tears" from the Gibson Brothers Ring The Bell recording. Love that phrasing!

Mark Hudson
Jan-20-2011, 11:12am
Actually, Sweet Loam is Joe's second. The first as I recall is Friday Night Waltz. That one is a good one... but the second one is awesome....