PDA

View Full Version : Picks?

Mark Hudson
Dec-15-2010, 8:41pm
I'm looking for something halfway between a Fender Heavy and an Extra-Heavy pick. Any suggestions?

Thanks!

Jim Broyles
Dec-16-2010, 7:14pm
Well, it isn't just the thickness; you also have to consider the material. I have 1 mm picks which are stiffer than 1.2 mm picks of a different material. Do you want to stick with celluloid, which the Fender heavies are made of? I have some 1.2 mm celluloid picks from a few different makers which are between a heavy and an extra heavy.

Murphy Slaw
Dec-16-2010, 7:29pm
I like the sound and durabilty of Tortex.

Mark Hudson
Dec-16-2010, 8:50pm
Well, I'm just learning, and so celluloid is all have have experience with. The Heavy's make things too bright, and the Extra-Heavy's not bright enough. So that's why I was looking for something in between. Another material and I would have to get it translated :-)

Jim Broyles
Dec-16-2010, 11:37pm
Well, you can make the point of the heavy a little rounder to darken up the sound a little. Try the shoulder of the pick and see how it works. Or you can sand the point a little flatter (more of a knife edge) on the Ex heavies to brighten them up a little. To tell you the truth, I would never have guessed that a heavy celluloid pick would sound too bright on a mandolin. I can send you some sample picks if you like. My personal opinion is that you would like the Dunlop Ultex picks in the 1.14 gauge. PM me if you are interested.

whyner
Dec-16-2010, 11:52pm
I'm a noob so take it for what it's worth.

Grab $10 and head on down to your local music shop and buy one or two of everthing 1mm or thicker. Try 'em all. The ones you don't like try this (http://www.mandolincafe.com/forum/showthread.php?65188-What-s-in-a-Bevel) on them. When you get comfortable making bevels try it on the ones you like.

Check this (http://www.mandolincafe.com/cgi-bin/classifieds/classifieds.cgi?search_and_display_db_button=on&db_id=44960&query=retrieval)too.