PDA

View Full Version : Washburn M6SWK - Too much for a beginner?

marklh
Dec-03-2010, 6:38am
Hello all - I am new to the Mandolin Cafe, though I have been reading online for a while before becoming a member. I am a harmonica player who has dabbled with banjo and mandolin in the past, and have decided to purchase my first mandolin.

I live in rural Nebraska, and my local music shop has a new Washburn M6SWK (Jethro Burns model) that they have reduced to $455 (with a case). My question is this: Is this too good a deal to pass up, or should I purchase a cheap (<$200) mandolin to learn on and grow with? I have been reading the forums, and there seems to be a WIDE variety of opinions on the Washburns. I can afford the Washburn, but I just don't know enough about ease of playability and such to make the decision on whether this would be a good beginning mandolin to start with and then be able to grow with. Any thoughts/suggestions/advice would be much appreciated! If you would advise against the Washburn, do you have a suggestion on an entry level mandolin to start with?

Thanks,
Mark

tbyron
Dec-03-2010, 7:45am
I own a Washburn Jethro Burns mandolin and while it is a nice little mandolin, I think you can do a lot better for the money. I have played a Kentucky in about the same price range that sounded a lot better.

Randi Gormley
Dec-03-2010, 9:13am
This isn't a Washburn-specific answer, since I've never played one. But I'd think the better the mandolin (and that doesn't mean price, specifically), the easier it is to play. You shouldn't start out with a comfortable instrument and graduate to something that slices up your fingers or harms your hands, in other words. So if the Washburn isn't comfortable to play right now, don't buy it, imho. Think of it as a pair of shoes. An uncomfortable pair of shoes today doesn't necessarily get easier to wear later, no matter how much you've paid for it.

Fiddler3
Dec-03-2010, 9:35am